Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
"Who I am is who I have wanted to be" T.A.
Archives
"Who I am is who I have wanted to be" T.A.
  • This website contains copyrighted literary and artistic projects such as short stories and photos. I am mostly interested in having people read what I write and receiving their reactions. Enjoy yourselves!
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Catégories
13 décembre 2009

Too much drinking is too much

Too much drinking is too much


In trying to look into what it is to a drunkard; I mean an all time drunk drunkard, to lose friends, or to technically have no friends after those presumed friends with whom the subject of this comedy spends a night drinking and smoking until their eyes bleed have prowled about his possessions.

Why do drunkards drink in the first place? Is it because they are addicts? Or is it that they derive pleasure, if any, from drinking? You can not tell for sure. It has to be, if anything, both of the possibilities.

I happened to have a neighbor who shows some symptoms if not all symptoms of a typical drunkard. He lives in the same apartment as I do. Despite the fact that he is a really nice person, he is to some extent a trouble maker. He never stays out of trouble. Trouble is him. After I observed his lifestyle for a week, some questions started to want to pull themselves in gravity towards their question marks.

I wonder why he drinks in the company of the same guys who stole from him last night and would still do the same thing to him any night they get around the liquor table. In trying to figure out why this is happening to him, I started to go about psychological theories to understand the subconscious of a drunkard like himself.

Well, I came to the conclusion that within the psychical apparatus of a drunkard, mainly during the climax of the drinking journey, the psychological iceberg which under normal conditions, is usually positioned this way: the tip of the iceberg which is the representative of the consciousness is over the surface of water, while the giant mass of ice which is in turn the representative of sub-consciousness is submerged into water. Guess what! This image of the iceberg I just came to draw goes upside down. So, the subconscious after coming to power, the top position of the psychic apparatus, starts issuing conflicting commands to the whole system. All the concepts that this person has been building since childhood come into ruins. Images get mixed up with one another. He puts wrong names to wrong faces. That is why he picks up the phone while getting excessively drunk and calls any number at random and invites by chance the guy or the guys who stole from him last night without being aware of what he is up to. Therefore, the invited person or persons think him stupid and lay their hands on anything that makes sense to them. Considering that their mental state allows them to draw any sorts of comparisons; everything, anything and nothing can make any sense to them or no sense at all.

 It is a total anarchy. The scale of chaos and anarchy that goes on inside the body of the drunk is equal to the amount of noise and destruction if not damage he causes to his environment. This is true and supported by the saying we usually find, or I once found in the literature: the universe is just a mirror reflection of our souls <<L’univers est le reflet de nos âmes>>. I can tell with almost a good degree of certainty that whenever you have more than two drunks in the same building disaster is not far ahead.

Another evidence to support this view is what happened between my neighbor Aragy and his liquor guests. The other day, I came home late and as tired as I was; I just dropped dead to bed. But it was not long after I woke up at the shrieks of females. That was at 4:00 A.M. The thing was that they brought prostitutes and started to beat them up instead of... One of them said to her batterer “I hate you” as if she was in love with him. I stood up, opened the door to my room as quietly as quietly is, collected all my pairs of shoes that were by the wall outside the room for fear that she will leave the place and get away with my shoes in attempt to take her anger out on the shoes thinking they are theirs and went back to bed.

 In the afternoon, I met Aragy in the kitchen. He apologized for the noise they made the night before. We had a little chat about the whole thing. What I realized is that between being drunk and sober lies language hemorrhage. That is to say; the drunkard says anything that comes to his mind, including the existentialist question: Where I am I? The drunken person no longer knows where he is! It is a bad thing to have problems with forming questions using the verb to be.  

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
"Who I am is who I have wanted to be" T.A.
Derniers commentaires
Newsletter
Publicité